People & Place

Project Team

All eight principal investigators ofLeverage Points are situated within the Faculty of Sustainability, Leuphana University of Lüneburg: Prof. Dr. Daniel J. Lang (project speaker): Professor of Transdisciplinary Sustainability Research; Dr. David J. Abson: Senior Researcher Ecosystem Services; Prof. Dr. Jörn Fischer: Professor of Sustainable Landscapes; Dr. Julia Leventon: Senior Researcher Sustainable Development; Prof. Dr. Jens Newig: Professor of Governance and Sustainability; Prof. Dr. Thomas Schomerus: Professor of Public Law, in particular Energy & Environmental Law; Prof. Dr. Ulli Vilsmaier: Junior Professor of Transdisciplinary Methods (primary affiliation is with Leuphana’s Centre of Methods) and Prof. Dr. Henrik von Wehrden: Professor of Methods in Sustainability Science.

In addition to the eight principal investigators, Leverage Points, will also hire four postdoctoral fellows and eight PhD students (see here for details).

Leuphana University of Lüneburg


Leuphana University of Lüneburg is widely recognized as a particularly innovative institution within Germany’s higher education landscape. Its Faculty of Sustainability is one of four faculties, and is unique in Germany in that it is firmly organized around a societal goal (sustainability) rather than traditional disciplines. At present, the Faculty brings together approximately 25 professors, 33 other staff holding PhDs, and approximately 120 PhD students. Transdisciplinarity is an organizing principle within the Faculty. The achievements of Leuphana University in the area of sustainability have been acknowledged internationally. For example, Leuphana University collaborates on sustainability science with leading institutions including Arizona State University, Lund University, the Stockholm Resilience Centre, and ETH Zürich. Nationally, Leuphana University has won a range of awards, including the first ZEIT WISSEN-Preis “Mut zur Nachhaltigkeit” in 2013.